PBJ Flapjacks

Ah, PBJ. In flapjack form. I feel I’ve reached new culinary heights.

Peanut butter and jam (or should I say ‘jelly’?), that much-loved American pairing, arguably the Pot Noodle of the sandwich world. Quick, unsophisticated and little nutritional value, but hits the spot every time.

I’ve recently discovered the joys of homemade PBJ granola and I would argue that it tastes 100 times better than eating it slathered on slices of bread. I eat it with milk, in yogurt, snaffled in handfuls from the tub…I can’t get enough of the stuff. And the recipe translated wonderfully into similarly oat-based flapjack form when I needed a quick bake for my craft group.

I had also somehow ended up with three open jars of jam in my cupboards so this was a good excuse to use some up. In the end it was a real bish, bash, bosh job – you can literally use any kind of nut butter or jam you have to hand – and I think I’d go as far as to say I like these as much as the granola, if not more.

These flapjacks make a really satisfying snack and, surprisingly, aren’t too cloyingly sweet due to the reduced amount of sugar and syrup used. I think they’re the perfect balance of sweet, salty, crispy and chewy. The strawberry glace icing turns them into a bit more a treat but certainly isn’t essential so feel free to skip this part.

Oh, and this recipe is gluten-free (if gluten-free oats are used – check the packet) and can be made vegan very easily!

IMG_20190616_170622_237

INGREDIENTS – makes 15-18

For the flapjacks:

  • 40g/1.5 oz butter/margarine/vegan alternative such as soy spread
  • 85g/3 oz peanut butter (crunchy, smooth, any kind you fancy)
  • 3 tbsp jam of your choice
  • 130g/4.5 oz brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp golden syrup
  • 270g/9.5 oz oats

For the icing (optional):

  • 2 tbsp icing sugar
  • Few drops of strawberry extract
  • Water, to thicken

METHOD

For the flapjacks:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees C (or 160 fan) and line a rectangular baking tin with parchment paper.
  2. Place the butter, peanut butter and sugar together in a large heatproof bowl and melt together in the microwave on low heat until smooth.
  3. Add the oats and jam to the bowl and stir thoroughly.
  4. Pour the mixture into the prepared baking tin and place in the oven for around 20 minutes, or until the flapjacks are very slightly browned at the edges.
  5. Leave to cool on a wire rack before icing and slicing.

For the icing:

  1. Mix the icing sugar and strawberry extract together in a bowl and add water a little at a time until you have a runny consistency.
  2. Use a teaspoon to drizzle the icing over the top of the cooled flapjacks.
  3. Allow to set for a few minutes before slicing and devouring.

IMG_20190616_170812_096.jpg

Categories: flapjacks, Raw/Vegan, Traybakes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.