Caramacjacks (Caramac Flapjacks)

I’ve been a bit quiet on the blogging front lately as I’ve not been doing as much baking as usual, and the few bits I have done have been either from cookbooks or things I’ve made a million times before that I’ve already posted on here. As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve also been trying to eat a bit more healthily and cut down on refined sugar but, admittedly, my desk drawer at work that’s groaning under the strain of the office biscuit/chocolate/jaffa cake stash is hindering my efforts somewhat…

Another reason in part for my lack of culinary activity is due to my recent rekindling of my passion for painting, something I hadn’t done in years until the other week. I’m so glad I’ve got back into it though as I’m enjoying it hugely, and I’m never happy if I’m not working on some kind of creative project. If you fancied checking out some of my work, I’ve started uploading it to my new DeviantArt account here: http://www.cloudninepointone.deviantart.com 🙂

caramac__92528Anyhow, back to the subject in hand – Caramac flapjacks! Or, as I have christened them, ‘Caramacjacks’. Weirdly enough, I’d never actually made flapjacks before but my friend at work had a birthday approaching and I decided to have a go at them as she’s not hugely keen on cake (I know, shocking!) and I wanted to make something that I could stick candles in. Like me, she’s a big chocolate fan, and there were two multipacks of the enticing sweet, golden ingots in question lingering in my pantry, so the result was a no-brainer.

P.S. If you’re crazy for Caramac, why not check out my cupcake recipe?

20160301_185541

INGREDIENTS – makes approx. 16 small flapjacks (or one big one!)

For the flapjacks:

  • 330g/11.5 oz oats
  • 150g/6 oz butter or margarine
  • 150g/6 oz brown sugar
  • 100g/4 oz golden syrup
  • 100g/4 oz caramel chocolate buttons or white chocolate buttons, chopped

For the topping:

  • 5 x standard Caramac bars
  • 1 tbsp butter or margarine
  • 75g/3 oz dark chocolate

METHOD

For the flapjacks:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees C (or 160 gas) and line a square or rectangular baking tin with parchment paper.
  2. Melt the butter/margarine, sugar and syrup together, either using a saucepan on the hob or by placing them in a heatproof bowl and heating in the microwave in 1-minute blasts.
  3. Stir in the oats and chopped caramel/white chocolate buttons.
  4. Scoop the mixture into the prepared baking tin and pop in the oven for around 20 minutes, or until lightly golden.
  5. Transfer onto a wire rack and allow to cool before adding the topping.

For the topping:

  1. Chop the Caramac bars into very small pieces and transfer into a heatproof bowl, then microwave on a LOW heat in 30-second blasts until completely melted (don’t be tempted to put it in for longer periods or turn the heat up or it will seize and turn disgusting!)
  2. Stir the butter/margarine into the melted Caramac and pour onto the cooled flapjack. Spread the topping into an even layer using a palette knife. Don’t worry if the consistency of the mixture isn’t very smooth.
  3. Chop the dark chocolate into small pieces and place in a new heatproof bowl, then microwave in blasts of 30 seconds to 1 minute until completely melted (dark chocolate tends to be more forgiving than the more synthetic Caramac).
  4. The Caramac topping should have set by now but, if not, wait until it has. Then, using a teaspoon, drizzle the melted chocolate across the flapjack in a criss-cross pattern and allow to set.
  5. Cut into 16 small bars with a sharp knife – or go mad and leave it as one giant flapjack!
Caramac bar image copyright treasureislandsweets.co.uk
Other photos copyright cloud9point1
Categories: flapjacks, Traybakes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Caramacjacks (Caramac Flapjacks)

  1. Pingback: Custard Cream Flapjacks | I Dream in Buttercream

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

